UpStanding Village

Since 2001, a small team of motivated people, in France, Switzerland and Burkina Faso, has found out that a community, a village, as precarious as its territory can be, is able to become autonomous, without subsidies, nor dependencies, only with some shared ideas and a small fund (a 2’000€ loan), which both will be handed over to another village, thus starting an endless chain of « UpStanding Villages »!

Solidarity – Autonomy – Dignity

The method:  Only local stuff! All is elaborated, realized, evaluated by inhabitants of the territory.
More information: A book: « The Territory Listened To » 2014, 40p, self edited and free to download here.

The goal: to create a circular and solidarity economy, in four steps:

  • Drive the inventory of the territory, find out its wealth and its economy
  • Bring about its economic potentials and realize profitable activities
  • Choose which public service is to be elaborated and financed thanks to the benefits
  • Monitor the situation, document the experience and share with another village

Our formula

  1. Unite: it’s the first condition for a village to stand-up. It has to be as a single body
  2. Give: the community commits and realize
  3. Receive: every inhabitant benefits from what has been accomplished
  4. share: the experience, the knowledge, the finance, withe the next village

Listening to the territory and its inhabitants

  • UNITE:

Within the village, different groups are identified, for example: the board of elders, the ring of women, the team of youngsters. These groups have representatives, and those representatives compose a super-group: it’s the project’s comittee, which will facilitate all interactions, explain, sensitize, motivates and is accountable to everyone. They create an association for the whole village, in order to give legal and operational frame to all forthcoming activities, among whom the first one is the territory’s inventory.

  • GIVE:

Once the village is united around the project, its inhabitants mobilize in order to create a circular economy within the village. It leads to, for example, the creation of a common shop, where everyone will find what to buy, while insuring all profits, from every little purchase, are staying within the village. At the end of an economic cycle (a year), activities and benefits are evaluated. Then the village gets together.

  • RECEIVE:

During the end-of-cycle meeting, the village assesses the benefits and decides, with a large consensus, in which public service they will invest. Altogether, they realize and manage it. Meanwhile, the Village Debout team deploys a wide range of smart and simple tools, best practices and know hows, so that in every field of activity in the village, autonomy rhymes with ecology!

  • SHARE:

Once the circular and solidarity economy is well set, and loans are reimbursed, it is time to find a new village. The standing-up village will allow another village to raise as well. They are going to twin-up, and pass on all acquire knowledge, experience and funds.

Contact

We are at your service!

Whatever the size,the identity, the territory of your community, autonomy is at hand!
A benevolent hand, full of solidarity and dignity

In Switzerland and France: contact(at)villagedebout.org

In Burkina Faso: soumanatoukoro(at)gmail.com

Village Debout

Depuis 2001, une petite équipe de gens motivés, entre la France, la Suisse et le Burkina Faso, s’est mis en tête qu’une communauté, un village, aussi précaire que son territoire puisse être, peut devenir autonome, sans subvention, sans assistanat, seulement avec des idées partagées et un petit fond (un prêt de 2’000 euros), qui seront transmis à un autre village.

Solidarité – Autonomie – Dignité

La méthode :  uniquement du local ! Tout est élaboré, réalisé, évalué par les habitants du territoire.
Pour en savoir plus, un livre: « Le Territoire Ecouté, 2014, 40p » auto-édité, à télécharger gratuitement ici.

Le but :  créer une économie circulaire et solidaire, en quatre étapes:

  • Conduire l’inventaire du territoire, découvrir ses richesses et son économie
  • Faire émerger les potentiels économiques et réaliser des activités rentables
  • Choisir quel service public va être élaboré et financé grâce aux bénéfices perçus
  • Evaluer la situation, documenter l’expérience et transmettre à un autre village

Notre formule

  1. Unir : c’est la condition première pour qu’un village se lève. Il doit faire corps.
  2. Donner : la communauté s’engage et réalise.
  3. Recevoir : chaque habitant bénéficie de ce qui a été accompli.
  4. Transmettre : l’expérience, la connaissance, les finances, au village suivant

Ecouter le territoire et ses habitants

  • UNIR :

Différents groupes sont identifiés au sein du village, par exemple : le conseil des sages, le cercle des femmes, l’équipe des jeunes. Ces groupes ont des représentants, et les représentants de ces groupes forment un super groupe : C’est le comité du projet, qui va faciliter les relations, expliquer, sensibiliser, motiver, et rendre des comptes à tout le monde. Ils créent une association villageoise pour donner un cadre juridique et opérationnel aux activités à venir, dont la première est l’inventaire du territoire.

  • DONNER :

Une fois le village unit autour du projet, les habitants se mobilisent pour créer une économie circulaire au sein du village. Cela signifie par exemple la création d’une boutique associative, qui permet à chacun de venir acheter ce dont il a besoin, en s’assurant que les bénéfices de chaque petit achat soient conservés par le village. A la fin de chaque cycle économique (ex : un an), les activités et leurs bénéfices sont évalués et le village se réunit.

  • RECEVOIR :

Lors de la réunion de fin de cycle économique, le village évalue les bénéfices engrangés et décide, d’un commun accord, dans quel service public ils vont investir. Tous ensemble, ils le réalisent et le gèrent. En parallèle, le collectif Village Debout déploie tout un éventail de ressources pratiques et de savoir-faire afin que dans tous les domaines de la vie du village, autonomie rhyme avec écologie!

  • TRANSMETTRE :

Lorsque l’économie circulaire et solidaire est bien en place, et que les prêts sont remboursés, il est temps de trouver un nouveau village. Le « village debout » va permettre à un autre village de se lever à son tour. Ils vont se jumeler, partager l’expérience et les connaissances acquises, ainsi que l’investissement obtenu au départ.

Contact

Nous sommes à votre service!

Quelle que soit votre communauté, son identité, sa forme, son territoire
L’autonomie est à portée de main!
Une main bienveillante, solidaire et digne

En France et en Suisse: contact(at)villagedebout.org

Au Burkina Faso: soumanatoukoro(at)gmail.com